An experience like no other

IMG_9108One of my favorite parts about baseball happens before the game even starts. For as long as I can remember, I have loved watching the guys prepare the field, lining, hosing down the infield, whatever. My friends and I constantly admire the work done by those men, so when I had an opportunity to join the field crew at the New Albany Sportsplex for a game, I took it, as I finally had my chance to see and experience first hand what goes into preparing the field for the game.

Much to my surprise, I was welcomed by the field crew with open arms and a very noticeable neon green, yellowish shirt. “It’s all part of the uniform,” I told myself, although I am convinced if anyone looks directly at this shirt in the sunlight without protective eyewear, they will go blind.

Another part of the uniform: sneakers. Now for anyone who knows me or has at least seen me running around at games this past year, I wear two types of shoes: heels and flip-flops. Needless to say, I had to dust off my old marching band shoes for this adventure, but for the record, I have discovered I own a heel that perfectly matches the neon shirt.

Upon arriving at the field, I meet the guys I will be working with, all of which have creative nicknames. Cody (Slap) and Cole (Cole) Wilkerson are cousins who share the family connection working together, while Matthew (Moby) Carter and Austin (Train) Epting were teammates at East Union. We all watch as the Rascals and Thunder take batting practice before their doubleheader, then at 5:30 the players clear the field and we begin our work.

Introducing the Crew

IMG_910930 minutes. That is about how long the field crew has to clear everything off from batting practice in preparation for the game. Several things happen in this time, as the batting cage and pitching mound have to be removed (those are really heavy, by the way), as well as dragging, watering and lining the field. There’s a lot of running involved, but with a staff as experienced as this one, they made a crisis (not having the right attachment for the hose) look easy.

Cody Wilkerson has worked in this profession for several years, starting at Snowden Grove Park in Southaven.

“I’ve worked with Scotty Baker, who is over USSSA, and I worked there for probably two years doing field crew there,” Cody said. “I ended up moving back toward this way. I live in Booneville now, and I got back into working out here, as my uncle helped me get the job here about six years ago.”

Cody’s uncle, Steve Wilkerson, is the father of Cole, who has worked at the Sportsplex the longest out of the group.

“I enjoy being outdoors. It’s better than being cramped behind a desk, and I’m able to be around sports a lot,” Cole said. “We both really enjoy sports, and it’s just fun to be around baseball.”

Both Epting and Carter were teammates at East Union, and have used an opportunity given to them by Epting’s father, Johnny, to the fullest.

“I’ve been working here for four years. Johnny Epting hired me, and I’m thankful to him for having a job up here,” Carter said. “I’ve been working weekends and tournaments, dragging and getting fields ready, and it’s all good experience for a future job.”

These guys have done it all, from dragging to watering and lining the field, which brought me to the one question I have always wondered: why do they water the field before the game? Cody, who was terrified of my recorder, had a very educated response to this.

“Watering down the field keeps the dust on the field and keeps it from going everywhere. Usually it’s easier for umpires, because they like it when it’s wet, so it’s not so dusty,” he explained. “It also makes the field look better, and it’s easier for when we’re dragging the field in between innings with the tracks. It makes it lighter for us, because if you don’t have wet dirt out there, it’s rougher when you’re pulling the field because it’s dry.”

Makes sense. Now for the challenging part: will I be able to handle this job?

The Big Test

Train and Moby went first to break down and drag the batting cage, as Slap and I set up the hose for him to water the infield. For everyone’s amusement, I also dragged some big thing that weighed more than me to the outfield. Then came the best part.

IMG_9114

Call me a dork, but I have always wanted to line the infield, or at least just the batter’s box. 

Cole coached me, as I did this, probably with a huge grin on my face the entire time. Once the field was lined and watered, all the equipment was packed up, and we assumed our spot just beyond the left field fence, where we would wait to rake the infield after the second and fourth innings.

That’s it! Seems simple enough, but it is actually a lot of hard work to keep the field looking good day after day. For my hard work, not only did I have the honor of throwing out the first pitch at that game, but I was also rewarded with a nickname by the field crew- “Little Z.”

I can now say that I know what it takes to be a part of the field crew for a baseball game, and it was definitely a great experience. Thanks to everyone at the Sportsplex (Kevin Crawford, Steve Wilkerson, Johnny Epting), but most of all to Slap, Cole, Moby and Train for putting up with and letting me live out this dream, as well as Screenco for the shirt.

Throughout this month, I will have a few more experiences like this, so check back each week to see what I am up to next.

Leave a comment

Filed under Randomness, Union County

Leave a comment